The Real World
Live at the Metropolitan Room

Recorded December 2011
Recorded and mixed live to 2 track by J-P Perreaux

Edited and Mastered by Andre Gauthier
Vocals, Baby Jane Dexter
Musical Direction & Piano, Ross Patterson

$20 + shipping and handling


With mixed results, there has been a trend over recent years for some cabaret artists to record their shows and later re-lease them on a CD that fans can enjoy. Some of those albums are top drawer. Such is the case with Baby Jane Dexter’s latest CD, The Real World, recorded live at the Metropolitan Room. While not all shows are worth preserving, Dexter has released a loving memory that will live on as one of the better albums to come out of a club setting.

Blues empress Ma Rainey said, “I can’t tell my future, so I’m going to tell my past.” Those words might have been uttered by Dexter as she put together this daring show. She paints a mixed narrative of emotions on a wide canvas. And, it’s all here on one disk. In many ways, this album is better than seeing the show, because the listener catches every nuance and special moment that made this one of Dexter’s most impressive cabaret outings to date.
John Hoglund,Cabaret Scenes



You're Following Me!

Live at the Metropolitan Room
Released March, 2008
Vocals, Baby Jane Dexter
Piano, Ross Patterson
Bass, Steve Doyle
Drums, David Silliman

$20 + shipping and handling

1. Intro  
2. Superstar Listen
3. Some Enchanted Evening Listen
4. Got To Get You Into My Life Listen
5. Ring Baby Ring Listen
6. Sneakin' Up On You Listen
7. Damn Your Eyes Listen
8. You're Following Me Listen
9. Make Believe Listen
10. The Very Thought Of You Listen
11.All I Have To Do Is Dream/ Dancing On The Ceiling  
12. Transition dialogue  
13. Love Potion # 9 Listen
14. The Wail Of The Reefer Man/Candy Man Listen
15. You Really Got A Hold On Me Listen
16. Precious Pain Listen
17. Fools Rush In Listen
18. Zing Went The Strings Of My Heart Listen



With Arms Wide Open
Live at Arci's Place
Original release: 2002

$15 + shipping and handling


.1 Intro  
2. With Arms Wide Open Listen
3. Taking a Chance On Love Listen
4. Sweet Simple Love Listen
5. I Want More Listen
6. Telephone Songs  
7. The Gentleman Is a Dope  
8. You Don't Know What Love Is Listen
9. Something to Live For Listen
10. Spinning Whee Listen
11. Damn Your Eyes  
12 Walk a Mile in My Shoes  
13 Is You Is Listen
14 Hello Young Lovers Listen
15 More  
16 Forever Young Listen


"In her exceptional show at Arci's Place, Baby Jane Dexter takes you on a vivid emotional journey. It's a wonderful show."
Chip Deffaa, New York Post

"Ms. Dexter is Mother Nature incarnate. She is a no nonsense singer that sings with the power of an erupting volcano and the sincerity of a street-wise earth mother that's been there, done that. Her Alto voice grabs each note and doesn't let go until she's sure that you've listened to her, damnit!...When she sings, I Want More, you better get it for her, no matter what it is that she wants more of. One of Ms. Dexter's signature tunes is “You Don't Know What Love Is. It's included here as a medley with Billy Strayhorn's gem of a tune, Something to Live For. This is where Ms. Dexter lays it all on the line through her raw, bare and sentimental renditions of these ballads. A word of warning to many of you cabaret music aficionados who like your music like wallpaper, Ms. Dexter must be listened to. Even through her recordings, she will disrupt your dinner party. She takes us back to the days when voices were distinct and unique. This CD almost feels like seeing her live. She's great."
William Gregory, Midwest Ursine



Big, Bad & Blue Live!

Baby Jane's legendary, long-running show at Eighty-Eights

Baby Jane Dexter, Vocals
Ross Patterson, Piano
Original Release Date: February 25, 1997

+ shipping and handling

1. Painted Lady Listen
2. Live the Life I Sing About In My Song Listen
3. Do Right Woman Listen
4. Throw It Away Listen
5. One Meatball Listen
6. Take A Look Listen
7. Wish Someone Would Care Listen
8. Walk A Mile In My Shoes Listen
9. Damn Your Eyes Listen
10. Dirty Man  
11. Blues In The Night Listen
12. Something To Live For Listen
13. Big Body Woman Listen
14. More Listen (full track)
15. Live The Life...(Reprise)  

"Ultimately, Big, Bad & Blue, Live! is every bit about the cabaret experience and its intimacy. Dexter bonds with her audience on many levels, practically introducing the SRO crowd to one another.. fueled by a brilliant sense of dynamics and emotive sensitivity....Dexter's performance is an emotionally charged, soul-stirring thing to behold." Mike Bieber, JAZZIZ

"With a meticulously chosen, eclectic set of songs -- from some unlikely sources as well as the likes of Strayhorn/Ellington -- Dexter accomplishes what she always sets out to do: Create an emotional bond with her audience, a la cabaret, but via musicality rather than imposed anguish....Her songs are as much dramatic performances as they are pop music...It's tough to figure out which is more remarkable, Baby Jane Dexter's new show or the fact she isn't signed to a major label."
John Anderson, Newsday